Skip to content

Void, Copy, & Delete Shipments

Manage your Postsale shipments | Void | Copy | Delete

Updated October 17, 20261 min readShip your orders

Managing your shipments is an important part of the shipping process. You may need to void a shipping label that was printed in error, copy a shipment so that it can be corrected and processed again, copy a shipment when products need to be shipped in more than one package, or delete a shipment that was created in error.

In this article, we will walk through how to void a shipping label, how to copy a shipment, and how to delete shipments that are no longer needed.

Quick Tip Video

Before We Begin

Since we will be managing shipments, this article assumes that:

Void a Label

Once a label has been created, the shipment details cannot be edited. If an error was made, the best course of action is to void the label, then copy the shipment, make any needed corrections, and create a new shipping label.

In this section, we will walk through voiding a shipping label.

How To Void a Label
  1. Select the order in the Orders Grid.

    The row checkbox for order 4504 is highlighted in the Orders grid.
  2. Open the Dock.

    Dock is highlighted in the Order actions.
  3. Verify that the shipment is selected in the Shipments Grid.

    Unselect row is highlighted in the Shipments grid in the Dock.
  4. Click the Void X Label button. (X indicates the number of labels being voided)

    Void 1 Label is highlighted in the Label actions.
  5. Click the Void Label button to verify that you wish to void the label.

    Void Label is highlighted in the Void this label? dialog.

The label is voided. The Shipments Grid and the Rate Selector indicate a voided status. Learn how to create automations to automatically update the order's status or to send an email when a label is voided.

The Dock with the shipment's Voided status in the Shipments grid and in the rate card.
Good to Know

Here are a few things to know when voiding labels:

  • USPS Labels: There is a time frame in which USPS labels may be voided. After this time, a refund request is submitted to USPS.
    • Domestic labels:
      • Can be voided until 12:30 a.m. CT the day after the mailing date
      • Must not have been scanned into the USPS system
    • International labels:
      • Can be voided until 12:30 a.m. CT the day after the label creation date
      • Must not have been scanned into the USPS system
  • USPS Unused Label Refund Processing: Per the USPS, “As part of our ongoing efforts to protect the United States Postal Service and our customers against fraud the United States Postal Service Commercial System will hold requests for unused label refunds for 14 days before processing. As a reminder, labels that have been refunded are not to be entered into the mail stream. Per USPS policy (USPS DMM Reference 604.8.4 Counterfeit Postage) any items mailed with counterfeit postage will be considered abandoned and are subject to being opened and disposed of at the Postal Service’s discretion.”
  • Voiding a label cannot be undone.
  • When a label is voided, a cancellation request is sent to the shipping carrier associated with the shipping label.
  • Discard all voided shipping labels to avoid accidentally shipping a package with a voided label.
  • See the Copy a Shipment section below to learn how to copy a voided shipment so that you can correct any errors with the shipment and create a new label.

Copy a Shipment

You may need to copy a shipment after voiding a label so that you can correct any errors with the shipment details then create a new shipping label. You may also need to copy a shipment when you need more than one label for an order such as when the products need to be shipped in more than one package.

In this section, we will explore how to copy a shipment.

How To Copy a Shipment
  1. Select the order in the Orders Grid.

    The row checkbox for order 4504 is highlighted in the Orders grid.
  2. Open the Dock.

    Dock is highlighted in the Order actions.
  3. Verify that the shipment you wish to copy is selected in the Shipments Grid.

  4. Click the Copy button.

    Copy is highlighted in the Shipments grid in the Dock.

This shipment is copied and appears in the Shipments Grid.

You can now make any needed updates or changes to the shipment and create a new label.

The Shipments grid in the Dock with the new copy of the shipment, ready to process, under the voided shipment.

Delete a Shipment

You may need to delete a shipment from time to time. Maybe you clicked the Copy button one too many times and don't need the additional shipment.

Let's take a look at how to delete an unneeded shipment.

How To Delete a Shipment
  1. Select the order in the Orders Grid.

    The row checkbox for order 4504 is highlighted in the Orders grid.
  2. Open the Dock.

    Dock is highlighted in the Order actions.
  3. Verify that the shipment you wish to delete is selected in the Shipments Grid.

  4. Click the Delete button.

    Delete is highlighted in the Shipments grid in the Dock.
  5. Click the Delete Shipment button to confirm that you wish to permanently delete the selected shipment. Click Cancel to exit the prompt without deleting the shipment.

    Delete Shipment is highlighted in the Delete this shipment? dialog.

This shipment is permanently deleted.

Good To Know

Here are a few things to know about deleting shipments:

  • Deleted shipments are permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
  • If the deleted shipment is the only shipment for the order, Postsale will create a new, unprocessed shipment.

Still have a question? Ask a person.

Write to support@postsale.com or send us a message. We reply the same business day, Monday to Friday, 8 AM to 5 PM Central.